Rift Between Congress and Uddhav Sena Over Mumbai LokSabha Seats?

MUMBAI, 29 MARCH, 2024 (TGN):
Shiv Sena (UBT) and Congress have not reached a solution over seat-sharing in Maharashtra sending speculations of a rift between the two parties which are
part of the MVA. Shiv Sena (UBT) on
Wednesday declared all its 17 candidates for the LokSabha elections in Maharashtra declaring names for four out of 6 seats in Mumbai, which upset former Maharashtra unit chief Sanjay Nirupam.Sanjay Nirupam objected to UddhavSena announcing its
candidates on 4 seats in Mumbai
and “leaving one seat for Congress
as charity”.

He further said the party deliberately fielded “khichdichor” candidate from a seat where he was presenting a strong
candidature.SanjayNirupam urged his party to call off the alliance with
UddhavSena in Mumbai, and go for a friendly contest instead. “The arbitrary manner in which Shiv Sena
(UBT) has announced candidates
on 4 out of the 6 LokSabha seats in
Mumbai, I have inputs that they are about to announce the name of the candidate on the 5th seat i.e., on North Mumbai as well – this has upset the Congress cadre,” Nirupam said,

According to a report.“Mumbai Congress leadership is very upset. Voters of Congress will also be upset due to the same. I would like to demand from our top leadership that they should take a stand against this
decision of the Shiv Sena,”

He added.“Congress leadership will
have to take a stand. There are just two options – First, break off the alliance. Second, have a friendly fight. Congress should field candidates for the seats on which we have a dispute and have not
reached a solution,” Nirupam further said.ShivSena (UBT) has fielded Arvind Sawant from South Mumbai,Amol Kirtikar from Mumbai North-West, Sanjay Patil from Mumbai North-East and Anil Desai from Mumbai South-Central.

According to reports, Mumbai Congress chief Varsha Gaikwad is also upset with UddhavSena’s candidate list as she aspired to contest from Mumbai South Central.

History of LokSabha Battle in Mumbai Constituencies
Mumbai North West : Shiv Sena’s
Gajanan Chandrakant Kirtikar won
in 2014 defeating Congress’ Gurudas Vasant Kamat. In 2019, Shiv Sena’s Gajanan Chandrakant Kirtikar emerged victorious again defeating Congress’ Sanjay Nirupam.
Mumbai North East : In 2014, BJP’s Dr Kirit Somaiya registered a victory against NCP leader Sanjay Dina Patil, who was defeated once again in 2019 by BJP’s Manoj Kishorbhai Kotak.
Mumbai North Central : BJP’s Poonam Mahajan won in 2014 defeating Congress’ Priya Sunil Dutt. The same result was repeated in 2019.
Mumbai South Central : Shiv
Sena’s Rahul Ramesh Shewale won
over Congress’ Eknath Mahadeo
Gaikwad in 2014 and 2019.
Mumbai North : BJP’s Gopal Chinayya Shetty defeated Sanjay Nirupam in 2014 and Congress’ Urmila Matondkar in 2019. Mumbai South : Shiv Sena’s Arvind Ganpat Sawant defeated Milind
Deora in 2014 and 2019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *